## History of the Department

The mission of the department is to form modern competencies, preparing leaders who instill national values by analyzing religious, cultural, and philosophical problems, and to cultivate qualified specialists capable of contributing to the future of independent Kazakhstan.

The history of the "Philosophy" department began in 1943. During this time, the Shymkent Technological Institute was established by a decree of the Kazakh SSR Government for training in the field of construction materials production. Within the walls of the institute, the "Philosophy" department continued its educational and research activities in line with the requirements of the time, under the auspices of the "Social Disciplines" and "Marxist-Leninist Philosophy" departments. Over the years, the department's faculty was enriched by qualified specialists and scholars in their field. During the Soviet period, the department was headed by candidates of philosophical sciences such as N.K. Kalshabekov, J.I. Ablasanov, K.A. Amankulov, and V.G. Ostapenko, followed by N.N. Imankulov, T.A. Suleimenov, A.I. Ismailov, N.R. Musaeva, among others. Notable scholars included V.N. Shutova, A.T. Koseubaev, and S.K. Dauletiyarov. Qualified specialists from the Shymkent Pedagogical Institute of Culture named after Al-Farabi, such as A.I. Igembaev, D.N. Nigmetov, M.M. Mamytov, E.K. Nurakhov, and V. Gorodbin, contributed to the department. From 1993 to 1998 and from 2013 to 2017, the department was headed by qualified educator T.A. Suleimenov.

In 1998, to optimize local universities, the South Kazakhstan Technical University and the South Kazakhstan Humanities University were merged into the South Kazakhstan State University named after M. Auezov. Consequently, the humanities departments of the two universities were combined into the "Philosophy and Law" department, led by Doctor of Philosophy N.R. Musaeva during that time.

In 1998, N.R. Musaeba successfully defended her doctoral dissertation. In 2007, N.A. Ibraeva, in 2009, A.B. Shaldarbekova, and in 2010, M.K. Rakhimshikova also successfully defended their Candidate of Sciences dissertations and were awarded the academic degree of Candidate of Philosophical Sciences.

In 2000, the department organized an international scientific and theoretical conference on the topic "Nomadic Culture and the Great Silk Road: An Interview Through Time." Scholars from Turkey, Uzbekistan, Kyrgyzstan, and Russia participated in the conference.

In May 2011, Associate Professor T.A. Suleimenov took part in the national competition "Talented Teacher" held in Astana, where he was awarded first place in the "Humanities" category and received a First-Degree Diploma.

In 2016, Doctor of Sciences N. R. Musaeva received an award for "Best Professor," while candidate of philosophical sciences A.B. Shaldarbekova was recognized as the "Best Curator."

In 2002-2018, a master's program was offered in the specialty "6M020100 - Philosophy", in this field, we can mention the works of G.K. Yesirkepova and G.Sh. Orazymbetova, who contributed to the development of methodological teaching materials. In 2003, G.K. Yesirkepova made a significant contribution to the department's academic efforts by publishing a work dedicated to the "History of Eastern Philosophy," thus enriching the department's literature resources. In 2022, a scientific and pedagogical master's program in "7M02211 Philosophy" was established, currently enrolling 5 master's students.

A significant event in the department's history occurred in 2018 when department received a state license for training bachelors in "5B020100 - Philosophy," and today state grants are allocated for this specialty. Currently, 60 students are enrolled in the philosophy program.

In 2020, senior lecturers T.E. Tumashbay and R.A. Musayev completed scientific internships in Turkey at the Philosophy Department of Kocaeli University in Izmit, while senior lecturers G.E. Botabayev, N.K. Baitabaev, and K.T. Bimenov studied at Gazi University in Ankara. To enhance student learning, the department collaborates with teachers from the Peoples' Friendship University of Russia and scholars from the Institute of Philosophy, Political Science, and Religious Studies of the Ministry of Education and Science of the Republic of Kazakhstan, KazNU named after Al-Farabi, and the "Philosophy" department at both international and national levels. An academic mobility program is available for students.

A significant event occurred in 2021 when, with the support of university leadership and the initiative of associate professor M.K. Rahimshikova and senior lecturer A.B. Shaldarbekova, cooperation was established and joint scientific seminars and conferences on ethics were held with the "Philosophy" department of the National University named after M. Ulughbek of the Republic of Uzbekistan, including Doctor of Philosophy N. Shermukhamedova and faculty members from the "Ethics and Aesthetics" department, Dr. D.S. Kodirov and N.Sh. Agzamova.

From 2021 to 2024, the department was headed by candidate of philosophical sciences, associate professor M.J. Spanov. In 2023, at the initiative of M.J. Spanov, the group "V033 Religious Studies and Theology" was transformed under the educational program "6B02211 - Religious Studies and Philosophy" (bachelor's), with 28 students currently enrolled. Today, the "Philosophy" department conducts educational activities in the disciplines "Philosophy" and "Cultural Studies" and prepares specialists under the educational programs "6B02210 - Philosophy" and "6B02211 - Religious Studies and Philosophy."

In the 2024–2025 academic year, 14 students were admitted to the program "6B02210 – Philosophy" and 26 students to the program "6B02211 – Religious Studies and Philosophy." Currently, 11 students are enrolled in the "6B02210 – Philosophy" program and 22 students in the "6B02211 – Religious Studies and Philosophy" program at the department.

Since August 2024, the "Philosophy" department has been headed by candidate of philosophical sciences, associate professor N.A. Ibraeva.

In May 2025, the department successfully passed the international initial accreditation of the educational program in the specialty "7M02211 – Philosophy" for a period of 5 years (from May 24, 2025, to May 23, 2030).







The Department of Philosophy, 2024y.